How to Apply for a Visa: Indonesia

In June 2015, visa requirements to enter Indonesia were amended. Here are the details:

Starting 12th of June 2015, the Republic of Indonesia has officially confirmed an important change to the visa requirements including granting visa-free entry to citizens of 30 new countries with arrival in 5 Major airports and 4 Seaports as below :

International Airports

  • Jakarta Soekarno Hatta in Java (CGK)
  • Denpasar Ngurah Rai in Bali (DPS)
  • Medan Kuala Namu in North Sumatra (KNO)
  • Surabaya Juanda in East Java (SUB)
  • Batam Hang Nadim in Riau (BTH)

International Seaports

  • Sekupang & Batam Centre in Batam Island – Riau
  • Sri Bintan & Tanjung Uban in Bintan Island – Riau

Below are the 30 additional nationalities have been granted visa free entry into Indonesia;

Asia-Pacific Europe Middle East and Africa
New Zealand
South Korea
Russia France Austria
Germany Italy Denmark
Netherlands Switzerland Poland
Spain Finland
Norway Czech
Hungary Belgium
UK Sweden
South Africa


Important : Visa free visits are valid only when entering Indonesia through 5 international airports :

Jakarta, Bali, Medan, Surabaya and Batam as well as through the following seaports : Sekupang & Batam in Batam,

Sri Bintan &  Tanjung Uban in Bintan

Hence, clients who have arrived in other airports/seaports other than the above will still need to pay the USD. 35 for Visa on arrival fees. So if a client is entering Indonesia through JOGJAKARTA or MAKASSAR or LOMBOK (or any other airports that not included in the 5 listed above), they  still need to pay for a VOA (35 USD per person).

Visa free visits are valid for a maximum of 30 (Thirty) days for TOURISM purpose only and cannot be extended or converted into any other type of visa.

Please note that Australia is NOT on the list of additional 30 Countries.

Here are the requirements for a Visa On Arrival  at the airport.

General requirements for a Visa On Arrival

  • Your passport must be valid for at least six months from date of entry
  • At least one blank visa page
  • You must have proof of an onward ticket
  • The current fee for the visa is $35 US for a 30-day visa